• Register Today It's free!

going insane....

thtanoyinguy

Reaction score
City, State
poquoson, VA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1988 Ford BroncoII XLT
:p: first off i am new to this forum, so i would like to say hello and thanks letting me join your forum. my name is travis but i go by thtanoyinguy. i was a ford mechanic for almost 4 years and have always driven dodge..lol.. now i make signs for a living and just recently purchased a 1989 bronco II, 2x4 with the manual tranny for my mother in law. this car is driving me insane. heres the issue.

:mad: while driving the car will loose all power and fall on its face. but if you give it more gas it will recover for about a 1/4 mile and then do it all over again. i and the previous owner have replaced the following with no solution.

map sensor, spark plugs, wires, cap and rotor button, IAC, ignition coil, TPS. i found about 2 tablespoons of oil in the throttle body so i cleaned it out and replaced the pcv valve. none of these have fixed this problem. please if this has happened to any of you please help me out. thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'd look at the fuel injectors and/or fuel pressure.

I'd look at the fuel injectors and/or fuel pressure.

yeah i forgot to mention that the ex- owner who is also a ford tech. drove it for a week with a fuel pressure gage on it and he said the fuel pressure never changed during the problem.

does it die at idle? do you have trouble getting it restarted?check the compression in each cylinder, it might have some blown rings.

it did die at idle, but after i replaced the IAC that part of the problem went away, but the running problem has stayed. i have noticed that the more you drive aka the hotter the engine the more it falls on its face.