heddman headers on a 4.0 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

heddman headers on a 4.0

4x4hauler

Reaction score
City, State
erie pa
Year, Model & Trim Level
i got a kkm intake and flowmaster 40series exhaust with 2.5" pipeing on my 4.0ohv explorer, it sounds a hell of a lot better, but to me it still sounds like a v6 :thumbdwn:

if i would get heddman headers, a custom y pipe w/ 2.5" pipeing, and high flow cats, will i get more power and sound like a v8?

i know it wont gain 30hp or w/e i just want like 12+hp and 15+lb/ft

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

It won't sound any different since you've already had the exhaust done. When I put my headers on, it actually allowed the truck to breather better, thus allowing me to reach my readline quicker. That allowed quicker take-offs and better all around performance.

Remember to disconnect the battery for a few minutes so the computer can remap the oxygen sensor parameters. It could take a few days until you notice a change...but you will notice!

I recommend you getting a better, higher quality set of hedders. Mine have thin flanges and the collectors constantly need tightening. Get some JBA, BBk, Gibson or equevilent type headers. You get what you pay for.

I'll have some Borla headers for sale in the next couple weeks.

Its never going to sound like a V-8 and the more you open up the exhaust the more torgue your going to lose.

You can try a Super 40 muffler, it's deeper. At lower RPM's my X sounds like a V8 with exhaust. A high flow cat would help too.

Higher RPM mine sounds v8-ish, but not totally..

I have a Ravin muffler. www.goravin.com Go to their site and look at the bench flow chart comparison. Ravin doesn't have the in cab resonance that flow master has at certian RPM's. Midas mufflers carries them.