K&N air filter

GeorgeR

Reaction score
City, State
SE FL
Year, Model & Trim Level
'96 XLT
Ok, I just got a new K&N air intake filter for my '96 5.0 X
The question is, do I oil it or run it dry??
I've heard both ways.
It seems that a dry filter would be better for mpg, but an oiled filter would be more effective as far as filtration is concerned.
What say you EXPLORER experts?
I'm still trying to get used to EFI etc after 25 years of straight 6 carbureted Bronco.
Thanks
GR

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The new filter should be pre-oiled from the factory.

When you clean it and re-oil it, watch out how much filter oil you use, since it might cause problems.

The oiled filter debate has gone on for years. In my opinion, as a professional technician, I see more harm than good from their use. It could be mainly from misuse or lack of maintenance, but I can buy lots of quality air filters for the cost of a K&N.

JMHO

It could be mainly from misuse or lack of maintenance, but I can buy lots of quality air filters for the cost of a K&N.
JMHO

:scratch:

K&N drop-in cost about the same as three or four paper filters...?

Well, the new one smells like it has been oiled, but the old one that is in the truck is soaked pretty well (actually damp with oil) I think its a purolator or something similar. Could be that's why my mpg is so poor. But it runs pretty well. I just bought the K&N online for $32/free shipping. It's guaranteed for 10 years or a million miles.

Well, the new one smells like it has been oiled, but the old one that is in the truck is soaked pretty well (actually damp with oil) I think its a purolator or something similar. Could be that's why my mpg is so poor. But it runs pretty well. I just bought the K&N online for $32/free shipping. It's guaranteed for 10 years or a million miles.