Looking for New set of wheels and tires | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Looking for New set of wheels and tires

Hi I am looking for a new set of wheels and tires on my 01 sport. I want to go to 31s and decently wide. I would like the tires to be a aggressive tread mud-terrain tire. My goal here is CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP because I don't have an over-abundance of money by any means. I would get new tires and stick them on my current wheels but nothing big enough goes on 15 inch rims. Does anyone have any suggestions for a good, cheap mud-terrain to go with a good, cheap 16 inch rim?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'm not sure of the conversions here... does __x10.5x15=__x75x15?
I know one is LT measurements and one is P measurements but I'm still learning all the quirks of tire buying... sorry for my newness :/
Is going from 235 to 31 going to be a huge difference or hardly noticeable?

Tires are kind of an odd thing, with multiple sizing systems-

a 31 x 10.50 x 15 is exactly that 31 tall 10.5 wide for a 15 inch wheel. Some tires are sized this way, especially 15's

The metric system is similar, but a little more complicated

A 275 / 75 R 16 is 275 mm wide, the sidewall height is 75% of 275 mm, and it is made for a 16" rim.

Check this link out to help explain it-

http://www.discounttiredirect.com/direct/brochure/info/tmpInfoReadingSidewall.jsp

To answer your question about sizes and "difference" check out this calculator-

http://www.discounttiredirect.com/direct/brochure/info/tmpInfoTireMathNS.jsp

get some rock crawler rims...maybe 55 a shot and some trxus mts...you wont be disapointed...

Do you mean you have stock 16" rims? You can find a ton of sizes to fit 15" rims, I am thinking maybe you have 16" rims since that's what my 01 sport had?

-Rich