• Register Today It's free!

Louder???

fmaster7

Reaction score
City, State
Jackson, NJ
Year, Model & Trim Level
'92 XLT 4x4
Im thinking of adding one 12 inch sub in a custom box under my back seat and 2 more 6x8's wired as mids.

My current setup is:

(2) Pyle 15 Inch 1400 watt subs
1440 Watt Power Acoustik Amp
500 Watt Rampage Amp
Lanzar 5 Farad Capacitor
Logic 2 to 3 way Crossover
Custom 6 Cubic Foot Ported Box (made to specs of subs)
Custom Amp Rack
(2) 100 Watt Soundstream Tweeters (with bass blockers)
(4) 150 Watt Pioneer 6x8's
Soundstream DVD Player
5 Inch TV

The Crossover makes the subs as lows, the rear door speakers as mids, front door speakers as highs, and tweeters as "ultra highs"

Let me know what you think and if you like my work. Everything is self-done. Im a certified mobile electronics installer.
1992-Ford-Explorer-XLT-3029-1.jpg

1992-Ford-Explorer-XLT-6240.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

My opinion-

If you want louder bass, you are better off getting better subs. If you had a better 15 in a ported box, it would probably be louder than the 2 pyles. I'd suggest getting new subs, it will make a world of difference.

BTW, I like the explorer badge there:D

What is the box tuned to?

Also, just another thing to add-putting a 12 under the rear seat, besides being hard to build and fit in the small space, won't be all that effective, because it won't sound as loud being in the middle of the car, rather than the back. What 12" sub were you thinking of that would even be able to be fitted under the rear seat?

My opinion-

If you want louder bass, you are better off getting better subs. If you had a better 15 in a ported box, it would probably be louder than the 2 pyles. I'd suggest getting new subs, it will make a world of difference.

BTW, I like the explorer badge there:D