New Member--2014 Explorer | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

New Member--2014 Explorer

blanchard7684

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2014 Explorer Limited
Hey folks,

Just registered. Reading this forum helped my wife and I decide on an explorer.

My wife and I are needing a family car.

We have a 2010 Mustang GT that has been amazing for us. Before the Mustang we had a 2002 F 150 that was unstoppable.

I have been a Ford mechanic and was an engineering intern at Ford multiple times.

We have searched far and wide for the right vehicle.

We narrowed the list down to 4-Runner, Explorer, Expedition based almost exclusively on reliability. Other SUVs seemed to be a horrible joke.

The 4-runner was the more reliable of the three. However, a few factors worked against them.

(Don't get me wrong...I'd love a 4-runner or an expedition if the decision was all mine. I'd probably pick the Expedition.)

SUV had to be mid size for ease of driving and navigation...Expedition out.

SUV had to be comfortable for very long road trips...Strike one 4-runner. The 4-runners we drove were noticeably less comfortable than the explorer.

Interior had to be "cute"...4-runner interior is, ummm, robocop-ish. Strike 2.

Power. 4-runner was winded easily compared to the explorer. (It also got lower fuel mileage). Strike 2.5...not a huge issue here 270 hp vs 290. The power curve and gearing just make the explorer seem substantially quicker.

Exterior. Explorer is stylish. The 4-runner is really challenging to like outside of the fully loaded Limited. Strike 3.

With the factors working against the 4-runner it was the reliability that kept us looking.

However brand loyalty and X-plan discount pushed us to an Explorer. Edit :A 2014 Limited.