PLZ HELP 01 ford explorer | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

PLZ HELP 01 ford explorer

b1blazin

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Ford Explorer Sport
im a learning mechanic and im not familular with alot! ive looked and looked to no avail. i have many questions lets start:

I have a p0171 code 1bank too lean i have a obd2 with live data but i cant find a vaccume leak anywhere one of my o2 shows the v at 1.275 and stays there. all rest seeem to fluctuate normally. I see that o2 sensors are located under neath around the catalitic converter but i dont know which is which or what to try or even if o2 is my problem instead of intake manifold gasket which is a common problem aswell as the torn elbow i dont see.

i tried to blow smoke in there but dont see any escaping. i checked the MAF sensor but it seems clean to me and reads on obd2 live data.

its hard to start on cold mornings other than that idk. my fuel trims are high for bank 1 like 20 something.

what should i do?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'm going to move your thread to our Stock 1995 - 2001 subforum where the right folks should see it.

One place I have seen vacuum leaks occur which a lot of people miss is the vacuum hose and/or elbow to the power brake booster.

A relatively common problem on the 4.0 SOHC is the intake gasket or o-rings.. whatever they are shrink in the cold and provide the problem you're describing.

I haven't needed to pull the intake off of mine so, I'm just speculating.

I think some people spray some sort of liquid, maybe starting fluid? Around there to see if the idle goes up.