Possible to prolong accessory mode? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Possible to prolong accessory mode?

Ellocovg

Reaction score
City, State
NJ
Year, Model & Trim Level
08 Danger Ranger XLT
I'm a contractor so I sit in my car most days during break and lunch. I listen to the radio so I hit the start button twice which is the equivalent of turning the key once too acc mode on a non smart key car or on fords I think turning the key backwards atleast on a rental Taurus I had years ago. The car automatically shuts off what I think is every 10 minutes which gets annoying is there anyway to prolong this? I also discovered on one of these freak cold days while sitting with the heat on with the truck running for I think it was 30 minutes it starts a count down to the truck shutting itself which is a pretty cool feature.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Have you checked the owners manual or settings in the radio? Gotta be some kinda way to let ACC run indefinitely. What do they expect you to do at a drive in theater?

Have you checked the owners manual or settings in the radio? Gotta be some kinda way to let ACC run indefinitely. What do they expect you to do at a drive in theater?

If the cars running it will give you a countdown before its shuts down. What I'm looking to do is acc mode where just the radio is on so its not really draining much power. Wow drive in movies they still have those things lol.