Rough Idle- Sputtering- Told I need new engine | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Rough Idle- Sputtering- Told I need new engine

toddious

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
winter park, FL
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 Limited 4x4
So my truck has been running rough for the past couple of weeks. Sometimes it isn't too bad, other times it runs rough enough to have a "shake" at low RPM's. My first impression is that it isn't firing on all cylinders (but I am no mechanic). I was assuming the problem was either plugs/wire/distributor or a fuel line problem. I have driven the vehicle reliably for a few weeks since it started acting up, but it isn't running right.

At idle, or driving at low RPM's (below 3,000) it has a sputter to it, like the power comes and goes. Once I am above about 3k RPM's, it seems to run OK.

I dropped it off this morning at a local auto repair shop to have them diagnose it for me (A free service). After looking it over, the guy tells me I need a new engine. I said "new engine? whats wrong with it??" He said that the compression was off, that they were getting low compression (something to the effect of "55 at one spot, 35 at another, and 0 compression at another"). I said, "isn't there some parts we can replace? why does the whole engine need replaced?" and all he could say was "it's definitely the engine, it has 177,000 miles on it".

I definitely can't afford a new engine for the vehicle, and I'm not sure I trust how much testing they did on the vehicle (He also said he would replace the engine for $2,400 parts and labor).