• Register Today It's free!

Suspension Question

lumpdog

Reaction score
City, State
Mountain Home,ID
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 Explorer
I am a newbie here to the Explorer world. I personally own GM's, Jeeps, and a Cruiser. But my girlfriend and my mom own a 94 and 93 Explorers, respectively. I wheel the crap out of my girlfriends ride, it is fun to wheel a stocker sometimes because everything is an obstacle.

I recently took my mom out on one of our 4wd club runs, and she had to park and ride with someone alot. She is wanting to lift her explorer now to fit 33's so she has a little more clearance and articulation. But I don't want anything that is going to ride like crap (i.e. add a leafs). After all, she is an old lady and I don't wanna hear about how harsh it rides! This is her daily driver, she went to Les Scwab and they quoted her $1000 bucks for a lift, I would assume a Tuff Country, and it was a 4 inch.

I am not much into fords, and after some research, the explorer lifts are few and far between for a good setup.

Any opinions? Pricing?? Links to sites with good prices and products??

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Welcome to the site. You'll find anything you need to know about your mom's and girlfriend's Explorer on here.

$1,000 is a decent price for a 4" lift and the Tough Country is a decent lift for a daily driver. A 4" with 33s will look like this minus the front fiberglass fneder. Before you do it though, you need to think about regearing it, because her already crappy gas mileage will get even crappier and the tranny won't like the bigger tires too much without regearing. If she's not too worried about the money, with it geared and a locker in the rear it will be a very capable off-roader.

1600colinexplorer.jpg

Good luck. :thumbsup:

You have a cool mom.