• Register Today It's free!

timing chain problems

allxlts

Reaction score
City, State
Montague, New Jersey
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 ex, 96 s10
so i have this 98 explorer sohc with something wrong. i have a new engine that i can put in, but if i could fix the one in there it would be awesome. so heres the deal.

i was driving home one night, and noticed the oil pressure gauge was at zero. shocked, i killed the engine and pulled over immediately. checked the dipstick, oil was full and it looked fine. started the ex up again and was listening for signs of no actual oil pressure, and nothing was wrong so i figured the sender was bad. drove it some more, and now i noticed a tap tap sound. it sounded like the timing chain was slapping around. im a diesel mechanic, so im not mechanically incompetent. ive been driving this thing for half an hour with the gauge at zero, so if i really had no oil pressure id have a serious rod knock. i also know that thats simply a dummy gauge.

now, i notice it getting louder and louder. it sounds like a diesel engine almost. i know this thing is gonna break, but its a beater and i dont have the cash for a tow. so i drive it the rest of the way home, and wouldnt ya know it about 5 miles from home it goes boom. not boom, but it just seems like i lost some cylinders rapidly. no holes in the block, no knocking from the lower end, it still turns over with the starter, it just sounds like im missing compression in some cylinders. the oil is clean and has no metal in it.

this all took place before i knew anything about explorers. i still dont actually. i know they have a timing chain problem, but i dont know what it is. nobody actually writes it out to read, its just common knowledge i guess.

so id appreciate any input at this point. im dying to drive this thing again, and i kinda need to since my subbie is about to go under the knife.