Upgrade to locking differential?

Hitchhikingmike

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
Dallas, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
'02 XLS
Hey guys, I've got a quick question, your help would be appreciated.

I've got an '02 2x4 explorer. I am interested in upgrading my rear open differential to a locking differential.

Question #1: Can I just keep my current differential housing and easily regut it to make it locking?

Question #2: If the above is not possible, would it be easy for me to find a locking differential elsewhere to swap with my current differential?

I have never worked on a differential before, or even touched one for that matter, so my knowledge is limited in this area.

One more question, what types of locking differentials are there? I know there are manuals with the switches on the end of the axles on the wheel hubs (but is that possible with a FIS?) and there are the limited slip ones with the automatic clutches inside.

Thanks.

Hey guys, I've got a quick question, your help would be appreciated.

I've got an '02 2x4 explorer. I am interested in upgrading my rear open differential to a locking differential.

Question #1: Can I just keep my current differential housing and easily regut it to make it locking?

Question #2: If the above is not possible, would it be easy for me to find a locking differential elsewhere to swap with my current differential?

I have never worked on a differential before, or even touched one for that matter, so my knowledge is limited in this area.

One more question, what types of locking differentials are there? I know there are manuals with the switches on the end of the axles on the wheel hubs (but is that possible with a FIS?) and there are the limited slip ones with the automatic clutches inside.

Thanks.
Yes, you can install what is called a lunchbox locker, which only replaces the spider gears, or a full carrier locker which replaces the original carrier. There are 2 type of lockers, automatic and selectable.