What do you guys think... First gen sleeper. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

What do you guys think... First gen sleeper.

1996BLKBauer

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
McHenry, IL
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 Eddie Bauer AWD V8
So I have been wanting to buy a Foxbody Mustang now for pretty much ever, but they are about 2,000-5,000 for a 5 speed, 5.0L Like I want. So since I am a college student, but I want to go fast, I had an idea to buy a First Gen Explorer, drop in a 5.0L V8 from a second Gen, harness and all, along with aftermarket 5 speed, lower it, tub it, and make a super sick sleeper Explorer to beat the living daylights out of, and have a ton of fun. So what do you guy think about this? Can I simply drop in a 5.0L into a first gen, or do I need to modify the frame, firewall ect. to do so. Obviously everything else would have to be custom, but I don't care, that is all the fun anyway. I can pretty much take my 2nd gen apart in a couple hours, but I am not too familiar with the first gens... give me your thoughts, I think it is an awesome idea, because I don't need to care about cosmetics, I can do what I want, and let my imagination lead me in ideas, instead of buying questionable off the shelf parts.

I have more questions below, greatly appreciate any responses. :D

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=354589

http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73026&page=2

http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=188738