2wd and 4wd Lifts. | Page 5 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2wd and 4wd Lifts.

One of the ones listed in this thread, or anywhere else on this website for that matter.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I will be getting college money, for a new truck, at the end of this school year and was wondering if it would be worth my while to do a front box kit, soa, tt and pa-853 body lift to get approx. 8" of lift on my 1996 XLT. If so, how big could I go on tires and how much would I have to regear? I really love my explorer, parents bought it new in 96 and I grew up in it. What other mods could I make to increase the longevity of the truck?

As a recent college grad myself, I cannot recommend any modifications to your truck using that money until you know you have a solid, predictable income. If you already do, congratulations and go for it.

ok when i go to http://www.louisville4x4.com/fsusexplorer.htm and i look at the front kit box 9637 and it says for years 96-01! when you type that part number in on the superlift website its says 01 and up ford sport track?

im a little confused if it will come with everything i need, i have 99 xlt 4wd 4door

Man. That's a nice set of ideas right there.. Now to save.. And get some time off of work to do this. Haha

This saved me like months of searching and getting prices and choosing what brands. Haha

I've been doing some research on the 2nd gen Explorer lift information. I've found that this thread is a great source of information. However, I came across some left out information on the original write-up.

Superlift part # 9637 only contains the lift knuckles and the hardware used to mount them. (this does not include any drop brackets). Read the parts listings on the bottom of that page.

http://www.superlift.com/Catalog.asp?P=9637