• Register Today It's free!

Front end noise; Please help

RobbyKlotz

Reaction score
City, State
Nashville, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'97 XLT
So heres the deal. I have a 97 Explorer, XLT. I cannot give a lot of background on it because I bought it used "from a guy". The truck is 100% stock except it has 20" wheels on it, with low profile tires.

While driving, especially at lower speeds where it is easier to hear, I keep hearing a crunching type of sound as the wheel spins coming from the front drivers side wheel area. It makes an awful racket, but I am not sure the best way to explain it other than clanking/crunching.

Naturally, I thought CV joint, so I replaced it however it did not solve my problem. I am not a very mechanical person, I fix things, but I really suck at diagnosing problems.

My stress level has reached an all time high as this is my daily driver to and from work. Only other thing I can think of would be a wheel bearing, but would it make the type of sound that I have described above?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Have you tried swapping the front wheels to see if it could be the actual wheel?

Haven't tried swapping the wheels around. However, I will try it. If that doesn't solve the issue, then I will look at replacing the bearing.

Is it a 5.0L V8 AWD? Mine makes the same noise, and I have new bearings. I can especially hear it when next to something that will echo the sound, like in a drive-through. I think it's the front driveshaft.

I changed out the front wheel hub on the drivers side, did not fix the issue. Of course the noise is more noticeable at lower speeds, and stops when you turn.

I am out of ideas, so any help would be appreciated as I am tired of randomly replacing parts.