• Register Today It's free!

Improved the intake for cheap

12secondv6

Reaction score
City, State
Hewitt, New Jersey
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Explorer XLT 4.0
I've been racing and modifying vehicles for many many years.

I was doing a full tune up on the truck and tossed around the idea of getting a cold air kit. I read tons of reviews/ dyno results and couldn't justify spending the money on my snow truck so I decided to make my own improvements.

I got a drop in k&n air filter
I then removed the stock air silencer
I then began cutting the entire front of the air box off so thagt it is completely open. It went from a small 2.5 inch circular opening to a 6+inch by 6+inch opening.

It made a difference on the truck - increased sound upon WOT was noticed right away and it seems to have picked up a bit of power.

I do feel that a true cold air kit would yield more hp/ tq but I just couldn't justify spending the money.

I'll get pictures sooner or later and post them up.

I have zero concern about possible rain water or leaves and crap getting in there.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I look forward to seeing the modification. Did you get any better gas mileage?

swiss cheese link...

couldn't resist...link doesnt work, for me anyway...

Same mod I did on mine!! K+N filter and remove frt snorkel and cut a 3X6 hole in frt of air box. Replaced muffler with a flowmaster with 2 1/2 inch tailpipe and shazamm the power increase and sound definately increased:biggthump

I did something similar.

100_0731.jpg

Was it a noticeable improvement or does it just sound like it has more power? Also was there any change in MPG?