Wiring UHF radio to regular 2016 Explorer | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Wiring UHF radio to regular 2016 Explorer

I would highly recommend going through the firewall with the proper grommet or through an existing one and connect to the power source next to the fuse panel if there is one on that model. No question about the current available and you will not have any issues when transmitting due to low voltage possibilities. You should be able to find a good ground or make one close by the same area. I was a Motorola trained technician for 40 yrs. I like to avoid issues if possible. Will it work as you want, probably, would I do it? No.
Going through the firewall in this gen Explorer is quite a challenge as many have found out. Also, there are two fuse panels. One in the cabin and one under the hood.

Peter

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Going through the firewall in this gen Explorer is quite a challenge as many have found out. Also, there are two fuse panels. One in the cabin and one under the hood.

Peter

Never use the inside fuse panel except for a control voltage for a relay. Way too many issues can come up,.

Getting through the firewall can be a challenge. You may find that going through the right side is necessary. Extreme caution of course. Sometimes you have to jack the vehicle up to find a safe path.

As for the timer mentioned earlier, we installed thousands of them over the years and they were the solution to dead batteries. They give you time to get out and back in without having to turn the key. You would not want to fish for keys in a stressful situation. Having that mic ready to go could be a life saver.

They lied... The PPV is available with the retail console, minus the floor shifter.