Solved - Ford Explorer 5 speed conversion - Going Full Manual | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Solved Ford Explorer 5 speed conversion - Going Full Manual

Prefix for threads that contain problems that have been resolved, and there is an answer within the thread.

gmanpaint

It's Always Something!
Staff member
Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
MO MO
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 & 95 XLT's
Update: The swap is done & is working well. This has been a year in the making, so it is a lengthy thread with changed directions, good spec info, lots of pictures, silly chatter, trouble shooting, overcoming certain issues that may arise in doing such a swap. I tried my best to include the smallest details of the conversion. Some might seem petty, but to some it might help them along in their work. Enjoy the following & bear in mind I am a novice at best. With pretty limited tools, and practically no physical help, I managed to do this alone in the driveway. The mental help, info, support, and knowledge was given from a collaboration of other members, condensed into a single thread. I thank each and every one that has helped along the way. If I can do it, you can do it!

In this thread you will find:
Complete manual trans & transfercase conversion performed on a 2nd Gen 1995 4wd 4 dr Explorer
Stock 4r55e and 4405-ca replaced with M5OD-R1 & 1354m
Spec information on which trans & t-case years to use
Problem solving with wiring with diagrams & pictures
Shifter installation modifications with a full size console
Exhaust was not removed (thanks to a 3" body lift), so no info on that.

**************************************************************************************************

I am going Full Manual in The Black Hole soon.

Picking up a donor - 99 Sport- for all parts needed.