'01 EB Ex V8 bogging at full throttle | Page 3 | Ford Explorer - Ford Ranger Forums - Serious Explorations

  • Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

'01 EB Ex V8 bogging at full throttle

Joe Dirt

Explorer Addict
Joined
October 4, 2007
Messages
13,342
Reaction score
22
Year, Model & Trim Level
07 Camry
I stopped off at the junkyard during lunch to see some of the sensors' orientation to the truck, just to see how far it could be off compared to mine, and they are indeed all over the place.

IMG_20130715_124621_341.jpg


IMG_20130715_124414_824.jpg


IMG_20130715_124239_993.jpg



I also found this... :)

IMG_20130715_124529_576.jpg
 
<

Join the Elite Explorers $20 Gets rid of the ads!

Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




<



Joe Dirt

Explorer Addict
Joined
October 4, 2007
Messages
13,342
Reaction score
22
Year, Model & Trim Level
07 Camry
Help me fix his truck, and I send it... lol
 
<



J

JCase

Maybe the new fuel filter you installed was faulty. I'd replace it again just to make sure.

:shifty_ey
 
<



Joe Dirt

Explorer Addict
Joined
October 4, 2007
Messages
13,342
Reaction score
22
Year, Model & Trim Level
07 Camry
Not after the pain of raw gas raining down like the devil's tears...

:D
 
<



Turdle

Lowrider
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
June 16, 2003
Messages
29,697
Reaction score
1,211
City, State
Humboldt, KS
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Mounty
Ok,
I would like you to read the resistance on the TPS, while slowly opening the throttle. Very slowly. If you have a "peak hold" feature on your meter, turn it on. If there is a out of range value read, it will lock the display to it.

Looking for a resistance spike --or drop out.


Joe, I want to help you either way. This one bugs me also. It's going to turn out to be something stupid, I just know it.

I would send you a fair amount of jellybeans for the plaque though. Let me know:thumbsup:
 
<



Joe Dirt

Explorer Addict
Joined
October 4, 2007
Messages
13,342
Reaction score
22
Year, Model & Trim Level
07 Camry
Will do, Jon... He's supposed to come by tonight. Hopefully the truck doesn't explode on the way over... :)
 
<



Joe Dirt

Explorer Addict
Joined
October 4, 2007
Messages
13,342
Reaction score
22
Year, Model & Trim Level
07 Camry
Tried rotating the cam sensor stator a bunch of places, nothing ever changes as to how it ran. Again, never removed the sensor from the top, now or before... Just turned the orientation of the entire unit to teh lower intake.

TPS- brown: 4.82

Gray/white: at idle ~.2-.7 (?) and smoothly runs up to top off at 4.2

The baseline number varies from .2-.7 as the probe moves in the wire. (?)
 
<



FIND

Explorer Addict
Joined
December 27, 2009
Messages
3,862
Reaction score
12
City, State
Vermillion, SD
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 XLT V8 AWD
I want to find one of those engine plaques...


Do you have torque pro or the free version? The paid version can do quite a lot of data logging.
 
<



Joe Dirt

Explorer Addict
Joined
October 4, 2007
Messages
13,342
Reaction score
22
Year, Model & Trim Level
07 Camry
Pro, but the dongle I had quit working.

and THAT folks, has GOT to be a new sig line for someone...
 
<



FIND

Explorer Addict
Joined
December 27, 2009
Messages
3,862
Reaction score
12
City, State
Vermillion, SD
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 XLT V8 AWD
<



Joe Dirt

Explorer Addict
Joined
October 4, 2007
Messages
13,342
Reaction score
22
Year, Model & Trim Level
07 Camry
Do I put them in the intake or the oil fill?
 
<



<



Turdle

Lowrider
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
June 16, 2003
Messages
29,697
Reaction score
1,211
City, State
Humboldt, KS
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Mounty
TPS voltge "should" be around .9v at idle rising to about 4.7v at wot

But you did not check resistance--measure across the tps for this.Signal line to 0 volt line.

Oh, are you using the 0 volt line for the negative probe connection? Ground is not a good reference for this test.
 
<



FIND

Explorer Addict
Joined
December 27, 2009
Messages
3,862
Reaction score
12
City, State
Vermillion, SD
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 XLT V8 AWD
<



<



Joe Dirt

Explorer Addict
Joined
October 4, 2007
Messages
13,342
Reaction score
22
Year, Model & Trim Level
07 Camry
lol!

I did use the 0 volt line...

We did notice fuel on the ground though, tonight. towards the back, so the intake is coming off again, I think that's where we need to check. I'll bet something is loose and blowing fuel/losing pressure at wot. I did notice driving today that even when you go 3/4 and hit 3,000 rpm, it stops pulling.

Mine is for sale, gave it to him to drive home... There is a method to my madness... lol!
 
<



Joe Dirt

Explorer Addict
Joined
October 4, 2007
Messages
13,342
Reaction score
22
Year, Model & Trim Level
07 Camry
I'd like to shoot myself in the face.

Pulled the intake. Again.

Fuel filter is leaking now.

What the hell is this rusty ring thing fused to the filter throat, should this be in the fuel line connector, and do we need to get one of those repair kit now?

IMG_20130715_222948_647.jpg
 
<



<

Join the Elite Explorers $20 Gets rid of the ads!

Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




Joe Dirt

Explorer Addict
Joined
October 4, 2007
Messages
13,342
Reaction score
22
Year, Model & Trim Level
07 Camry
I'm going to peek at a new Purolator fuel filter tomorrow, and see if that thing is already on there. Seems odd.

I think I'm going to make a junkyard trip and see if I can get a set of new sensors- try a different TPS, breather, and DPFE. Who knows at this point. Might grab a new fuel rail as well.
 
<



Top