4-FOUR!- problems w/1998 Ford Explorer NEWBIE here pls help | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

4-FOUR!- problems w/1998 Ford Explorer NEWBIE here pls help

Lisa288

Reaction score
City, State
Gainesville, FL
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Ford Explorer Sport
I don't know if I'm even in the right forum, so please forgive me and correct me if I am- cuz I'll likely have more questions monthly!

Just joined, and I have several problems in which I looked up in various forums but couldn't "relate" to the answers...so I'm going to try a new post here to see where to go from where I am stuck!

1) My a/c doesn't work. Just the fan and vent (which blows HOT air.) Living in FL this is my BIGGEST, HUGEST, MOST HUMUNGOUS PROBLEM, boo hoo.

I don't know if there is anything I can do to try to fix it, not sure if it takes freon or is one of the newer vehicles that requires something else because freon is now illegal to use. Can't afford an overhaul of this, don't want to get ripped off- so I want to make sure a) I can't fix this myself w/son or b) that if somehow I DO have to take this in, I can be assured that nobody will tell me I need complete new system just so they can make money (what's wrong with this world.) I'm a woman and have been ripped off in the past.

2) About a week after my last oil change, my gear shift lever went crazy. I already know that Ford will claim it's not their fault....Park is now Reverse, there really isn't a "DRIVE" mode- now I have to put into 2nd gear to be in Drive, etc. -everything is one gear off, it seems. Does that make sense? Anything I can do ? (I mean, that my son can do?)

3) Passenger door sticks. Very hard to open.

4.) Radio works SOMETIMES. Lights up ON OCCASION, but is mostly black screen and we have to guess where we are on stations. And of course, with that the CD player doesn't work, either.