97 XLT speedometer & odometer problem | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

97 XLT speedometer & odometer problem

ranman106

Reaction score
City, State
north carolina
Year, Model & Trim Level
'97 XLT
97 XLT speedometer & odometer problem UPDATED!!!!

Newbie here.

The speedometer and odometer on my 97 XLT are giving me trouble. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't. I've never noticed any vibrations of the needle. But eveything else is working fine. But, the ABS light has been on for a while. I had the code pulled and they said it was a bad sensor.

I need to replace a couple of burned out bulbs so I would like to repair all of this at one time. Any ideas?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

sounds like a speed sensor

Speed sensor FTW

I agree

Thanks for the help.

Will replacing the VSS take care of the ABS light or is that another sensor? If so, where is that one located?

Thanks for the help.

Will replacing the VSS take care of the ABS light or is that another sensor? If so, where is that one located?

On top of the rear pumpkin is the sensor.... 2 screrws and the wiring harnes and your in business....

actually, if you have a 97 its on your transfer case. 98 was when they moved it to the pumpkin (at least with the v8s, dont know about the v6s)