Anyone Interested In Custom Exhaust? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Anyone Interested In Custom Exhaust?

Rofocowboy84

Reaction score
City, State
Royersford, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'04 XLT
For a while I've been searching for the perfect exhaust for my X. Something that's nice and deep and throaty and mean sounding, but still makes it sound "tuned", if you will. I was just going to go with a Flowmasters 40 muffler. They have the nice deep throaty sound, but even at the high RPM's they still sound like that, there's no "tuned" sound. It just sounds like it belongs on an old pickup. But then I realized I wouldn't settle for a single pipe, I wanted dual pipes coming out the back, and not just a single pipe that Y's into two tailpipes. I studied exhaust more and realized that an X-pipe is better than "true dual", not only for performance, but also sound, IMHO of course. There aren't many options for aftermarket accessories for our GEN3 X's, as most of you already know, and that includes exhaust. If you had a good shop, you could buy all of the pieces and have them fab something up, but with cats being a few hundred, mufflers being around a hundred each, it could get expensive.

A few days ago, I discovered Pypes Exhaust. The company works mainly with old and new American V8 muscle, and have a lot of kits for modern Mustangs. Their exhausts have a very "old muscle car-esque" sound, low throaty rumble on the low RPM's, building up to the nice V8 scream once you hit about 3500. (vids below for examples)