Coolant Loss - Rough Idle - 4.0 OHV - Head Problem?? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Coolant Loss - Rough Idle - 4.0 OHV - Head Problem??

Jim Jermain

Reaction score
City, State
Madison, WI
Year, Model & Trim Level
00 XLS
I have a '00 Explorer with the 4.0 OHV. I've been chasing a rough idle at cold start for two years. After about 30 seconds the truck runs great. I've changed just about everything possible (plugs, wires, upper & lower intake gaskets, IAC solenoid, TPS, EGR solenoid, fuel filter, fuel injector, injector o-rings). I've checked the fuel pressure, I've checked compression, and vacuum. I've also sea-foamed the engine and cleaned the Mass Air sensor.

I am losing some coolant with no visible signs of external loss. I do occasionally post a cylinder 3 misfire. I also noticed when I tried to remove the number three plug the threads were coated with a black hard substance. It didn't look like oil, more like carbon. On one of the posts I read about sliding a small cotton rope into the cylinder to see if it comes out with any signs of coolant. I did not see any signs of coolant after letting it sit overnight.

I've read a lot about leaking head gaskets and cracked heads on these engines. Any suggestions on whether my coolant loss and rough idle might be associated with a cracked head or bad gasket? Any tips on how to confirm?

Thanks,

Jim

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Unfortunately this does happen...

The best way to see if the heads or gaskets are leaking would be to get a cooling system pressure tester and see if the head or gasket leaks when you pump it up...IF you suspect a particular cylinder, I would pull plugs out and then pressurize the cooling system for confirmation...Hissing sounds or coolant spray will be evident...