• Register Today It's free!

How much fender to cut out?

1981gMachine

Reaction score
City, State
Manchester, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1992 Explorer XLT, 5spd
Ok, I know I haven't posted much here. I was searching the forum about body lifts and fender flares. Everyone seems to hate body lifts and no one makes 1st gen flares. Now my xploder has a lot of rust in the bottom of the fenders, doors, and rear fender. So I was thinking about just cutting the openings bigger to fit larger tires. Now, I can do this, I'm a painter for a Ford Dealership and also do body work.

92 Explorer
5spd
4 door XLT

My question is how big of tire can I fit with stock suspension and body lift with cutting fender and quarter flare larger. I know 30x9.5 can fit stock. I was thinking of buying a set of cheap 8-10" wide rims to push the tires out a lil further.

- When I think 34's, is that too big even if I hack away most of the fender?

- How much clearance around the tire would you guys say is safe to have.

- What's the bolt circle pattern for a 1st gen explorer?

Oh, I don't really offroad this, it's my DD and has 137,000 miles on it. Needs to last. Just wanted bigger tires and possible fix some of the rust issue at the same time.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

well have 36's but thats with a 3 inch body and 5.5 inch lift. im not sure sure you will get 34's to fit with just cutting because if you turn you will rub...to get it to fit you would almost have to cut into the doors i would think...