Is the Explorer better? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Is the Explorer better?

Reaction score
City, State
Puerto Rico
Year, Model & Trim Level
'99 Explorer EB 5.0
Proud Owner of an 1999 EB Ex. with the V8, almost 200k miles on it. I consider myself a fan of the Ford Motor. And obviously of the great Explorer.

In past times I have run vs other trucks ( 2001 Jeep Cherokee, 2012 Jeep Wragler, 2007 Toyota Tacoma) with mine and I think that is almost obvious who won that races. But, my question here is: Can my truck beat other vehicles? Maybe cars. Idk. Im just wondering. Im not a real expert about performance of each car. I would like to know your experiences with your trucks and if them can beat some Japanese crap or something like that. :thumbsup::usa:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

How do you lose against them with the V8..

You can win if you're running the engine as well as you possibly can.

Make sure the intake is clean, maf is clean, throttle is clean.
Run good oil, synthetic if you can.
Change your spark plugs for original ford ones.
Make sure your exhaust is flowing properly.
Maybe even a cold air intake or an aftermarket computer/tuner to plug into the obd2 port.

I've won races with my OHV V6.. against newer trucks. You might not have pressed the pedal hard enough. :D

Lol Yes they can. I smoked some punk that was driving a vw that was riced out. Funny thing was I was driving the wifes 5.0 xlt witch in no where even close to running like my v8 sport. Now a coworker of mine has a 350Z earlier tonight we ran them down the high way from a stop. My v8 sport pulled away form him tell we hit 60 then he barely passed me when we hit 80 then we stopped at that.

How do you lose against them with the V8..