Key won't start vehicle / steering | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Key won't start vehicle / steering

Nbaylot46

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2011 ford explorer xlt
Hi I'm new to the explorer world! Just purchased our 2011 ford explorer. We love it so far!

I have two questions about the vehicle.

1) sometimes when we turn the key the vehicle won't crank or even try. The lights come on just like it would when it will crank.

2) we went around a corner one time and the steering went out.

Can someone shed some light on this? Thanks!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

You sound like you have a power steering issue which some others have experienced, involved replacing the whole electrical steering system. The other problem with your key not cranking the engine is probably a bad relay/ wire.

Hi I'm new to the explorer world! Just purchased our 2011 ford explorer. We love it so far!

1) sometimes when we turn the key the vehicle won't crank or even try. The lights come on just like it would when it will crank.

Welcome to the Forum Nbaylot46.:wavey:
Since you have to use a key, I'm guessing it isn't a Limited model. It would help if you added the model of the Explorer to your profile so it shows up in the left margin. As for not always starting, it sounds like it could be a bad ignition switch or contacts or relay as 1995E stated.
The steering is another issue that affected quite a few of the 2011 and 2012 models. There is a 35 page thread on that;
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=320445&highlight=steering

Peter

Hi Nbaylot46,