New alternator, but the battery light is still on. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

New alternator, but the battery light is still on.

silcom

Reaction score
City, State
Eagle River, Alaska
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 Explorer XL
Explorer died on my wife, battery dead. I had the alternator checked and it was defective (130K miles). Bought remanufactured alternator and installed. Battery light remained on. Checked voltage, 14.5V, with alternator turning. Checked connections, engine off: B+ 12v, A 12v, all connections to battery junction also ohmed OK (I'm an electrician so have a fair amount of experience with meters). All fuses OK. Since cables to J box checked out, the fuse links are also good. Also tested 2 yr old battery, OK

Took alternator back and got another, still got the red light problem. Still charging just fine, the computer just doesn't know it.

Reset OBD, but those codes seem related to emissions. I commited the sin of shorting out the B+ when disconnecting the alternator, but the fuse links are still OK.

Any suggestions?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

welcome silcom

Welcome to this forum! I've moved your thread into the stock 2002-2005 section. Do you have a schematic diagram of the charging circuit? Trace each connection from one point to another. You might have a broken wire or a bad connection. It's also possible for the replacement alternator to have a defective voltage regulator or diode.

make sure all plugs are are connected tight?

Everything appears OK. But I'm not sure where the conducter from the alternator plug, I terminal I think, ends up. it goes to the computer that "talks" to the battery light, where ever that is. I could check the wire but just have basic prints out of a Haynes manual.

Alternator problem solved