Newbie here, work in progress w/ pics | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Newbie here, work in progress w/ pics

Jaysin2719

Reaction score
City, State
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Year, Model & Trim Level
'04 2wd V6
So here are a few pics of my 2004 X. Nothing special 2wd (boo) 4.0V6. So far just some minor cosmetic stuff done, painted grill, painted wheels and removed all of the explorer emblems. I have some Hella 500s sitting here staring at me, just trying to get some time with my brother in law to fabricate a brace to mount them behind the grill. Big plans, small wallet for now. Any other suggestions for "cost-effective" mods? Yes, I know I left my plates in there so please don't stalk me :) Also, there is some residue where the emblems came off, these were taken pre-wash.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

you can do an airbox mod, blackout taillights and get some corner lights on ebay to get rid of the horrible amber corners

I plan on getting the smoked corners first of the month when I get paid. As far as the airbox mod is concerned, how much does it really benefit? I mean the cosmetic stuff has no benefit other than aesthetic but I really don't want to start messing with my airbox if it does nothing.

I keep reading about the air box mod, but haven't looked deep enough in here to find out what it is. Anyone got a link?

I wasn't too far from where you live on July 29th! I did RAGBRAI(3rd time) and I have family that live in Waterloo. Ride is looking good and keep it up!

Man Ragbrai is one of the biggest parties I have ever been to. Yeah, we aren't far from Waterloo at all. Sadly it seems that I may be the only one from the Cedar Valley here on the boards. I would love to meet some other X heads that could provide some guidance and opinions.