O/D Off light came on, then truck wouldn't start.... | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

O/D Off light came on, then truck wouldn't start....

XLTmodifire

Reaction score
City, State
Nor*Cal
Year, Model & Trim Level
99' XLT (B4 Autumn Brown)
So I get off work, and move the X out of the spot to park my work truck keeping it running. I get back into the X and start driving, noticing that the "O/D off" light is on. Well, I didn't want to get onto the highway w/o OD, so pull up next to the office, and turn the truck off. I then attempt to start it up again, and it fails to start up. The engine turns over, but would not start up.

I let it sit, pop open the hood to find anything loose. I attempt to start it up again just for it to fail. I then decide to leave the key in the on position. Thinking perhaps letting some fuel get in or something. I am not a mechanic. Hell, I wouldn't even know what to look for even if there was something wrong under the hood.

I let it sit in the on position for about a minute, and then attempt to start it again. It tried, and then finally, it catches. Slowly, but finally I was able to give it some gas, and I kept it at 2.5 - 3 RPM just to make sure it stayed running. I slowly let the RPM's drop, and it stayed just fine at 1 RPM idle.

Drove it home, and all is OK. What do you think it could have been?

Thank you for your input. It is highly appreciated.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

No help for this problem of mine as well?

Another morning, and no replies of any help to my problem......

Well, there's not much information to go on...