repaint? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

repaint?

so i want to repaint my entire truck. only problem is it has some DEEP scratches(down to bare metal) what is the best way to paint it? do i have to strip all the paint to bare metal then prime it? or do i just prime over the current paint? i am doing this on a $600 truck, so i really dont care if i #### up - its my first time - i just want to learn how to do it. i will be getting a compressor and spray gun - will this be enough for a professional job? or do i need chemicals to take all the current paint off? any help would be greatly appreciated

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I would fill them with Evercoat skim coat. Sand it with 180 grit, fill it, and sand it smooth with 180, then prime.
Feather edge the light scratches with 180 grit on a DA sander, prime those scratches.
Every thing else, hit it with 320 ( including the primer ) clean, clean, clean and then paint it.

I repainted my X a couple months ago. I did a complete write up with pictures. I had an experienced body man help me. The thread was under body work and was called "Old explorer gets new paint". It will answer many of your questions.

One thing to remember if there is a scratch you have to make sure the paint isn't loose around the scratch because that is were flaking can start. Monmix is right, you don't have to sand old paint down to metal all the time.
Prep is the biggest part, that will make or break a good paint job and you can't rush it either.

Good luck

Since you don't care much if you mess it up and you're not looking for perfection, you might be a perfect candidate for Earl Shrieb or a Maaco $299 paint job. It is not the best but it will be at least 2 times better than you will do if you have never done this before. Just a thought.