Transmission jolt when shifting into reverse | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Transmission jolt when shifting into reverse

jjcast13

Reaction score
My 2006 XLT Explorer will have a jolt when shifting from drive to reverse. It is occassional yet happens more often than not. When shifting into reverse there is a slight delay and then a jolt when the gear engages. Any suggestions as to the cause or remedy?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

My 06, will "jolt" sometimes when in park going to reverse. Figure it's a 4WD thing, I am new to this setup.
It might be while the idle air control has the rpms above normal idle.

Any and all jolts are pretty much related back to the vehicles transmission. If you have an extreme jolt in any gear at all it has to do with the transmission not working properly. Most likely you are not familiar with the quirks of the vehicle so I would suggest you bring it to a transmission shop.

My Mountaineer did this at 41k miles, there was a solenoid bad in the tranny, Ford did a rebuild. Been working great ever since. Would have run me $1500.00 if not for my 100k mile powertrain warranty.

I know theres a TSB from ford on irratic transmission shifts. Reprogram fixes it

I'm having a similar issue as well. Whenever I come to a dead stop from anything over 45 MPH, the transmission skips first gear on the downshift range and goes in to neutral. Then, the tranny waits 15-30 seconds before engaging back in to first. Sometimes if you're waiting to begin moving again after it does the neutral shift it will rev up to 3000 rpms before engaging - then you get a whole vehicle jolt before it finally starts rolling again.