• Register Today It's free!

whistling noise

mercracing

Reaction score
City, State
Kaukauna, Wisconisn
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 Eddie Bauer
When I am crusing down the highway on a windy day, there is this whistling noise coming from the front passenger side(am/fm antennna) ish area. Has anyone else heard this? Is there something to tighten down?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I also have this same noise in my 2005. I have no idea what it is. I just bought the vehicle, so i am new to this. It drives me crazy I also need help on figuring this out, any ideas would be great.

same problem, '03 EB.

i noticed this after my windshield was replaced in my 02 mountaineer

I get it when there is a bad crosswind. So 90% of the time i hear nothing. I first thought it was the plastic trim on passenger window frame, then i thought it was the surround on the windshield, now i'm completely clueless. Sounds like plastic vibrating REALLY fast. Almost like blowing on a blade of grass between your thumbs. Unfortunately i cannot reproduce it with the passenger window down and its very omnipresent so i cant discern where indeed it originates. looking forward to a solution!

Light them if you got em... use a cigarette and drive on the highway where you heard the whistling. While at speed run the lit cigarette along edges of windshield and look at the smoke to pin point the air leak. Repair as needed.

crudster, is your sunroof opened (fully retracted into roof) when you hear the noise? If you have sunroof is your air deflector on sunroof up? I know that on some vehicles with a larger sunroof the fluttering noise gets worse as the sunroof is opened to it's maximum. Also fluttering noise if deflector is stuck down or broken. Should not get fluttering noise if sunroof is tilted upwards.