Need honest opinion!!! Please help! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Need honest opinion!!! Please help!

Hey guys and gals! Newbie here and I have a question. I have an 04 Explorer EB w/4.0 V6 with 3.55 gears. I am changing the Hitch to a weight dist. class III as I have a 24 ft TT to tow. I am also installing an electric brake system as well. The TT will weigh close to 5000lbs when loaded. I have checked all the numbers on the door of the explorer and understand them but if I'm not going to pull up any long big hills and keep my towing local would this be allright to do? As well is it a legality issue also? Please help.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

As long as you are just pulling it local, with no hills, you will probably be ok. Just don't make a habit of it! Just remember to take it easy so you don't over-stress anything.

Need an opinion here!

Hey thanks alot. Can anyone else give some advice?

You will be legal if you get tags on trailer. As for your truck, the 4.0 is a strong motor - much stronger than the A4ld transmission. Get a transmission cooler installed ASAP. Rememver, you're pulling this with a V-6 so don't expect a lot of speed. I've pulled a lot with my 94, so it is possible.

reminder its a 3rd gen, trans cooler is standard. with the 4.0L and 3.55 technically the max is 3500lbs due to the gearing, no matter which hitch. Even if you had 3.73 it only goes up to 5200lbs for the 4.0L. You should have the 5r55w, not the greatest in the world. You should be able to get away with it, but i wouldn't want to do it on a daily basis with those gears. If you keep the O/D off it should help.