Water Leak | Page 50 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

The Explorers are known to leak around the hatch hinges, body and wire grommets, the roof corner seams where it joins the lower hatch panel (about a 5" area to the very back at the top corner) and where the roof dips down at the back where the hinge area is. I'm sure theres more I forgot but mine was leaking from every one, including the roof rack bolts:D. I'm just saying it'll get expensive really quick if they have to mix up paint every time a new leak appears.

I just need the body shop to fix it. I'm a mechanic (not a ford mechanic) pretty much I point to what needs to be repaired and they fix it up. i send all my found water leaks to the body shop. They are pretty good. Haven't had any come backs from them on water leaks in the past couple years I have been using them.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

2011 explorer fixed

The area when u open the gate where the rubber seal sits that's where it's leaking ! Had mine back 7 times the last guy fixed it .
It doesn't look pretty but is finally not leaking .
Frank

Don't forget the rear seat-belt leak could be as simple as the rear roof rack leaking where it attaches to the roof. Not enough sealant put in during production. This is a cheap, quick and easy fix for any shop that has done it. Just take off the rear part of the roof rack and insert sealant. 25 minute to have my leak fixed due to this.