1994 Aerostar. Starting & running issues. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

1994 Aerostar. Starting & running issues.

Rodriques

Reaction score
City, State
Home of The Alamo
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 Ford Aerostar
Ok I am very new to this but I am lost... I have an 94 3.0L Aerostar Van automatic at about 94,000 miles and its been giving me hell! Let me start when it all began I had it parked for about 1-2 yrs. but I would turn it on occasionally....so when my Acura integra was on its last leg I figured I would fix my van to be prepared to use it again. I noticed when I tried to started it at one time it bogged and never kicked over... So I had the fuel pump and fuel filter changed out... along with distributor cap/ rotor / wires / and plugs. I had done treatments to the van gave it super unleaded it did good for a month then the hell began.And now it catches faster because the treatment knocked loose alot of crap in tank and clogged my sock and filter . I replaced the fuel filter and strainer because i figured it was a fuel issue when it did not want to catch when i first go to crank it but now it does catch but still not fixed! I noticed that when I researched on this site some one mentioned mass flow/ Throttle Positioning Sensor/ Cleaning the IAC/ PCV valve which i did all and that is when I noticed I had a vacuum leak but still didn't fix it.... Also when I got it to stay on I would drive for like 20 min in Texas hot weather.... it will start to heistate to accelerate especially on hills or inclines of any sort. When i would push on the gas it would act as if it was a transmission issue... So then that I researched again...if My gears don't kick out I was told it's not that my trans is bad... It could be the filter since i never changed it. So I had the trans filter changed. And again it didn't fix my problem. I went back to auto zone and some guy mentioned the transmission modulator... So I did that... F*!k again no