Best Buy Lift Kit for GEN 1 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Best Buy Lift Kit for GEN 1

LIL TANK

Reaction score
City, State
Westminster, Colorado
I know that theres a lot of info on this subject on this forum however after two weeks of searching I'm left with a bunch of questions, I know that there is a lot of experience that all of you have to offer on this, so thanks in advance.. I'm new to Explorers so I lack a lot in experience of what works and doesent on these rigs. I am looking of advise and info as to which direction I need to go with which lift will best suit me.

I only want to clear 31s or 32s, stay away from body lifts, and I would perfer a quality sus lift kit that going to feel good to drive and work good on the trails. I just dont know what is quality. I know that asking "what ones the best" is a loaded question, thats why I'm looking for whats best for me. Its primarily a daily work truck that is going to see moderate four wheelin in the mountains, nothing too crazy, and lots of camping. I m want to keep mpg up and Im accoutning for either 3:73 s or 4:10s.

With that said heres the lifts Im looking at:

James Duff Stage One
http://www.jamesduff.com/broncoII/4wdsusp.html

Trailmaster four inch
http://www.trailmastersuspension.com/suspension/fordchart.htm

Superlift four inch
http://www.superlift.com/suspension/ford/90-EXPLORER.asp

Rough Country four inch
http://www.roughcountry.com/ford_83-97_midsize.asp+

Is there a more cost effective way to get four inches and proper clearence for the 31s or 32s with out using a sawsall to the fenders? I am on a budget on this.

For what I want, what lift is best suited for me, if theres others that I dont have posted up there that might be better please let me know.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.