• Register Today It's free!

Electrical is gone...

djkid97

Reaction score
City, State
Palo Alto, CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
13 XLT 2.0l ecoboost
Hi all.. I'm a newbie, so I'm hope this is appropriate. I searched for a specific thread on this topic but didn't see one. I've not tried the general troubleshooting tip about inspecting the two big "bundles" of wires, but I will.

In the meantime, in case anyone has suggestions: i've got a 97 Limited 4x4. Suddenly I get zero electrical -- eg no dome lights when opening door; nothing is getting power. Prior to this problem emerging, the only electrical issues I had were that the washer pump didn't work and one headlight was out. I started working on replacing the headlamp assemblies while waiting for upper and lower control arms I'm replacing. I mention these things in case maybe I shorted something somehow.

I disconnected the negative from the battery while working on it. For a while, I could reliably re-attached the negative cable and everything would be fine. Then I noticed it would not have power when reconnecting the battery (like I"m seeing now) but then I'd fiddle with the connection and it would work again. Now electical is just dead. The battery is fully charged (I charged it). The headlights have been removed. When my buddy tested continuity through the connectors to the water pump, he sensed a short.

Is it possible that i've shorted and blown some sort of master fuse? Is there such a thing? Any other clues on how to start diagnosing?

thanks!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Connections to the water pump?

My first guess is that you have a bad connection to the battery, or have a bad cable. Do you have the factory wrap around steel clamps, or lead block style?