explorer 95-01 front end bearing noise | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

explorer 95-01 front end bearing noise

Rkownurko

Reaction score
City, State
North Wales, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
Explorer 97 Eddie Bauer
Hi everyone,

I have the following vehicle:
Ford Explorer 2001
XLT AWD 5L V8 Engine all standard no customization

I have been chasing a front end bearing noise for 3-4 years and have not been able to find it. Most recently it has gotten much worse and I need to figure it out. Any help is appreciated.

I have replaced the following:
1. Front u-joints 1 1/2 years ago
2. Front Wheel hub bearings 1 6 months ago and 1 last weekend
3. Front Axle with CV joint left side

The following are the symptoms.

The Noise is a constant hum of a bearing noise based on speed of the car not speed of the engine.

When I drive down the road the noise appears to be coming from the right side, when I turn left and the pressure goes on the right wheel the noise gets worse. When I turn to the right and take the pressure off the right wheel the noise almost goes away.

The noise gets the worse at around 40 MPH gets better at 55 but I am afraid to go any faster due to the noise.

When I turn very hard left or right I get no clunking or noise from either side indicating CV joint issues.

I have read other posts on this site that point to the front axle bearing. I assume this is at the end of the hard pipe that connects to the front differential on the right side. Does anyone know how this bearing need to be removed? Do you just take out the CV axle and then you can remove it? Do you need to take apart the front differential to pull out the axles like the rear with the C clips holding in the axles? Should I do all bearings if this is the issue?

Any help is appreciated, I am getting ready to jack up the truck on all four corners and use a stethoscope to attempt to pinpoint the noise.
:salute:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.