Minor Collision, Money Issue | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Minor Collision, Money Issue

My friend is currently not allowed to drive their explorer, due to two collisions in two weeks (she has the worst luck). Her parents aren't too thrilled. The first collision did nothing to her car, because she hit a parked altima in the passenger door. The second collision, she rear-ended a range rover and did some minor damage to her car. The left headlight is jammed in (4-way knocked out), hood is damaged on the front left, front left fender was pushed back slightly, but enough to not let her open her driver door more than a few inches, and there is a very small dent in the bumper. As far as I can tell, there doesn't seem to be frame damage, and all mechanical parts are intact.

I went online the day after to get an estimate on the parts, and it costs around $600. Now, I'm no auto mechanic, and I've never done any installation on a car, so I am wondering how hard it might be for someone like me to install the parts myself instead of her spending twice as much as they got the car for a garage to buy the parts for it and charge around $2500 for the whole job. I'd really like to do this for her, frankly because I have an interest in cars and the like and hope to study mechanical engineering in college. I figure that this would give me some decent hands on experience, seeing that I'm in the same financial boat as her.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Welcome to the site. I too am pursuing the Mechanical Engineering path. You might even be able to fix the explorer for less than $600 if you make an attempt to buy some parts at a local auto salvage yard, or even on this site. There is a nice for sale section here.