• Register Today It's free!

Need Help

BlakeMcClaskey

Reaction score
City, State
Yakima, WA
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 XLT
I am new to suspension lifts. I am planning on buying some type of suspension lift. I saw that Les Schwab sold Tough Country lifts for 94 explorers and i was thinking about doin that. I hear everybody talking about different types of lifts and i really dont know what they are talking about. Could someone tell me all the options i have on lifting my explorer and the costs, and also the difference's between the lifts. And does anyone have a 4 inch Tough Country lift and could u show me how it looks please. Thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Well, from what i have learned, it depends on what you are willing to spend... For me: if i pay more and it lasts longer, i will. I wont do coil-overs/add-a-leaf/blacks, becuase in about a year they wear out, and go back to stock form. *correct me if im wrong* I hear Tuff Country, Skyjacker (if you can find it), as long as its a "kit" you should have almost everything you need... Car jacks, tools are also needed, unless you are the Hulk. ;)

Hope this helped....

-JDubb

Coil Overs are pretty much the ultimate thing for suspension. They would be near impossible to make work with the first gen suspension and axle though.
Blocks would lower not raise an explorer. Blocks also never wear out. They are just solid metal blocks.

oh well how exactly do the different types of lifts differ? How is the suspension lifted? And i do plan on going offroadin so i need a good lift I dont want to spend too much more than 1000$ for a lift.

Thanks for the feedback

I whant to get a kift after i get my rocker panal fixed but i want a small enof lift/tires that i dont have to change gearing and trans whats a good size tire/lift i was thinging about 33's