• Register Today It's free!

newbie audio help

stoogesrule

Reaction score
City, State
MD
Year, Model & Trim Level
1991 2 door eddie
Hi, have the factory jbl system in my 91 XEB 2 door. I went to walmart and brought a sony cdx-gt420. ( it works.. just plugged in the two plugs). I'm thinking of buying 4 speakers (2 front, 2 side), they are infinity 6822 cf that chutchfield recommended and keeping the factory amp and sub. Would that amp power all those things? Does the amp power everything? Is the amp just for the sub? Are 91 jbl amps any good? If I keep amp how much bigger sub could amp handle? sorry for asking so many ?'s I just dont know. thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Well, im no pro, but i believe the first rule of thumb is that your amp should be a lower peak wattage than your subs. So if your subs are 1000wat peak with 800watt RMS - than your going to want an amp that pushes less than 1000watt peak. This is so that you dont blow your subs out.

As far as amps go, you can get a 4 chan amp which will power everything if needed. Most of your multi chan amps push HI and LOW signals, so you can use them for all speakers. For the subs its best to get a MONO ClassD, which only pushes the low signal for your subs. Honistly, if you just purchased an aftermarket head unit, you may like the sound from the stock speakers alot better, and may not need an amp to power them further. just get an amp to power your stock sub.

So the correct setup would be a 4chan for your tweets,mids, and then run a mono amp for your sub. However iv seen many people running everything from a multi-chan amp, so i know it is possible.