OHV to SOHC swap | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

OHV to SOHC swap

92lxsleeper

Reaction score
Has anyone attempted this? if its possible and feasible, i would like to do it to my 95 Sport. 4.0L OHV 5 speed manual 4X4

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'm not an expert but I think it might be a lot easier and probably cheaper to get a donor vehicle with a SOHC and just swap the whole thing over computer and all.

well the thing is that i want to keep my 5 speed and 4X4, and im not sure if the had that option on the SOHC. i know they had AWD, and i do not want that.

The SOHC had 4WD, never AWD, but I don't know about the manual trans. I bet that it did, but dealing with the PCM will be a harder issue. If you do not have OBDII(under dash diagnostic port), then I'd leave the PCM in there and change external engine parts. Meaning keep the parts from your engine and place on the SOHC engine. They use the same block so almost everything should bolt on. Good luck,

AWD was on V8s. The SOHC used a transfer case for 4x4. Don't forget, everything is computer controlled; TC, trans, engine, brakes. They all talk to eachother, a byproduct of OBDII. Doable but never easy. Swapping the whole drivetrain complete with wiring harnesses and computers is always far easier.

You just need the engine, and all wiring plus computer. However, it must be from another manual, as the newer Auto are computer controlled and are part of that system. If you installed a computer from a auto, it would keep throwing codes looking for the trans.

Actually you dont need the computer
Brett has a 94 Explorer sport, 5 speed.

He installed a SOHC 4.0L from a 03 Ranger along with the Ranger 5 speed and his 93 transfer case

he is using the 94 OHV computer to run the SOHC engine