Right Power to Subs? (Audio Guys, Come On In) | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Right Power to Subs? (Audio Guys, Come On In)

ap81590

Reaction score
City, State
North Georgia
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 XLT
I am fairly new to the whole car audio thing and don't have a good guage of what all these wattages mean. I have a Kicker L5 12" thats 600rms. Should I get an amp that supplies it with all 600 watts rms or will this blow me out of the truck? I want noticeable thump (enough to make friends jealous ;) ) But don't wanna rattle the heck outta my Explorer. So all you car audio experts, should I run it at or below 600 watts and if below, just how much would be good? Thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

hello and welcome to the great land of car audio your rms is not the max so you dont need to worry about it blowing at 600 watts next thats a very good sub so it wil sound good as long as every thing is hooked up right and third you can run anywhere from 400 to 1000 watt amp to that sub all amps have gain so just turn it down or up as needed. remember not enough power is almost as bad as to much so get it up there a little bit , then just tune to your liking. hope this helps

you should run between 200 and 600 watts rms roughly as per the manufacturer recommends

Ok, I guess I'll go ahead and get a 600 rms amp. Heres the next thing....I don't have 500 bucks for an amp. Can I get somthing decent for $200 or so? Thanks

you definitely can-

i might even have one for sale- i have too much stuff right now to remember. check out my for sale thread here.

otherwise the answer is still "yes" even if you have to buy new or whatever

I didn't see one like I was looking for in your thread...If they're to be found though, I'll find them.