Very dumb question but im new to the 4X4 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Very dumb question but im new to the 4X4

xxixt4nkxixx

Reaction score
City, State
Denham Springs, LA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Ford Sport Trac
2001 Ford Exp. ST 4x4

Wondering how many fluids im going to have to change when i get home im redoing ALL FLUIDS.so far i have:

engine oil
transmission
coolant
brake fluids

what am i missing?

also possibly makeing sure all fittings are greased properly any tips on what types of grease to use.

whats the best way to actually clean the outside of the motor im looking for a SMALL oil leak somewhere under neat the engine.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Transfer case
Front Differential
Rear Differential
Power Steering

Best way to clean the motor is to get one of those high strength foaming degreaser (in an aerosal can) and spray the motor down. Doing it at a coin op car wash to use the pressure washer works well. Bring ramps or a jack if you really want to get up and under it. You may want to do it during an off-peak time though.

For cleaning the engine the best quickest way is to use brake clean and a rag or hose to get the really hard stuff off.

You'll need to change the transfer case lube, front differential lube and while your doing all of them the rear diff lube, power steering fluid. Yep I think that's about it. there great how to threads in this section, the '95-01 stock Explorer section and on the projects section on the mysporttrac.com site.

Transfer case
Front Differential
Rear Differential
Power Steering