2016-2019 Sony DSP to 500 watt Platinum DSP upgrade possible? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2016-2019 Sony DSP to 500 watt Platinum DSP upgrade possible?

Don Wilson

Reaction score
City, State
State College
Year, Model & Trim Level
2020 ST/2005 XLT Sport
Hello everyone! New poster here so please forgive me for lack of accuracy.

I'm also new to modular Infotainment systems but have a vast history with old-school tech. I'm trying to apply my years of electronics knowledge to understand all the pieces-parts. I've also attempted to scour this forum for information before posting.

What I'm looking to do is upgrade the stock Sony in a 2017 Limited w/NAV to the Platinum system. I believe that they're both 12-speaker systems (but may be different drivers) and they both have the same basic modules, and assuming the wiring is all the same, it would seem that one could just replace the modules that are different and possibly re-program any that are needed. I was looking for a part number source to understand the base number differences in modules and speakers to determine which need focus or even if it's worth it. From what I know and what I read, I would think that the DSP module is the heart of the 'Live Acoustics' and 'Clear Phase Technology' difference. And the difference is wattage is simply the DPS (IMO).

Anyone ever attempt of do this? I'm finding information on the premium plus to Sony upgrades, but not anything relative to the Platinum. Did Ford do something special to not allow this to happen? Do the modules use VIN's at all to be read and match the vehicle? This is where I really lack...

Could someone please nudge me in the right direction - or let me know it's just not possible - so I can abandon this idea?

Thanks
Don

'05 XLT V8 Sport Sight & Sound Pkg 275K+
'17 Limited NAV Roof

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.