• Register Today It's free!

Dpfe Egr Sensor

JakeMadman

Reaction score
City, State
Watertown, MA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 Explorer LTD, 4.6 v8
Hi. I just signed up on this site. I found it while searching for information on how to find and change a DPFE/EGR sensor. My dealer wants 285.00 to replace it. I have found them on line for between 8.00 and 20.00... I can't believe it costs $265.00 in labor to change it... 3 hour job... I don't think so..

It is a 2002 Ford Explorer Ltd. 4.6 V8.....

Can anyone tell me where I'd find the DPFE sensor...

I'm a novice mechanic, but I change my own breaks, lube oil filters, trani flush etc.. so I'd like to believe I can handle this

Appreciate any help you can give me...

Thanks

Jake

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

You should find a metal pipe coming off exhaust manifold, it will have 2 silicone lines, almost look like vacuum lines, coming off it . They attach to dpfe sensor. Get your new one out and compare, you'll find it

Get yourself a manual. Just because you get an EGR code does not automatically mean it's the EGR valve. Make sure all your lines are clean, test the solenoid, and test the DPFE sensor. Good luck!

Go to the top of the page and click on the search button. Type in " P1400 Error Code "
and it will bring up a post showing a photo of the sensor. I paid $30.07 for mine from a Ford dealer. Took less than 2 minutes and no tools to replace.

Ford extended the warranty on the sensors 2 years or 24,000 miles. You might be covered.

how can i test the dpfe sensor? thanks

JakeMadman said: