Sport Trac Coilover Swap Help Needed! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Sport Trac Coilover Swap Help Needed!

Hi Everyone! I am getting ready to do a coilover swap on my 2001 Explorer Sport Trac 2wd and I have a few questions. I have been researching for a couple months now and obtaining parts. So far I have the Superlift Crossmember drop brackets and F-O-A 2.5 O.D. coilovers (14.25" collapsed - 20.25" extended). Being 2wd I have some room to play with for mounting the shocks, I know I need to reinforce the top shock mount bracket. I still need springs, shock tabs, and sway bar end links. I guess what I need to know is what springs to go with 12" or 14"? 700 rate? They must be 3" I.D. for the coilovers. What shock mount tabs should I go with (would really rather go with something cheaper than the rcd ones), and if I mig weld will I need gas or not? What size welding wire? What about the end links, any help guys? Also after all this, with my stock spindles, what possible lift might I be able to expect? I already have a SOA in the back. I have been searching every night after work and I have come up with a good idea of how it should be but these details are still missing. Thanks ahead of time!

wow..those are a lot of questions...i'll attempt to answer a few of them! unless you're making a custom upper a-arm there's no way you're going to fit a 3" coil spring (2.5" coilover) in there...also a 14" spring is what you want a 12" will be too short...and i believe the heaviest load you will find with a 14" is 650lbs which should be fine..and as far as the tabs go just have someone make them for you...any machine or steel shop can cut them for you and while you're at it check out my thread.. http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=193479