• Register Today It's free!

4r70w Trans cooler for offroad

mtnyota

Reaction score
City, State
San Jose, Ca
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 Exploer XLT 5.0
I'm building up a 98 explorer 5.0 for a rock crawl trailer queen. I'm new to wheeling with an auto and want to make sure I don't run into heat issues or over cool the trans. I'm still building but need to relocate the stock cooler to fit the winch, so If I need to add one now would be the time. I have already added a trans temp gauge.

Specs:
Superduty D60 front/Sterling Rear w/5.38
Atlas 4.3
39.5 TSL

I've been reading the old threads and there seems to be conflicting info. I've read the 5R55 needs more cooling but the 4r70w with the factory cooler does not. If it should have more cooling is it better to add a 2nd stock cooler, or to run a larger single cooler>

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

You always need more cooling on a stock system on a slow speed rig. The 5r needs to be babied way more than the 4r70w, just because it is a wimpy trans from the factory. Add a larger, or second cooler where ever it’s convenient.

a single, larger unit would be the least likely to have an issue vs multiple coolers/connections.

remove the factory radiator cooler from the system and run two factory style plate and fin coolers in series tucked up tight to the cooling stack and your 4r70w will be happy. The tiny fluid to fluid cooler inside the radiator actually works more as a pre heater then a cooler due to its size....so instead of running it and risking mixing water with Atf when it fails, just remove it from the system

There have been many very large OEM ATF coolers on bigger trucks. Those would be better and often cheaper than any aftermarket cooler.