4x4 91' Eddie Bauer Build Progress - Questions - Pictures | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

4x4 91' Eddie Bauer Build Progress - Questions - Pictures

Reaction score
City, State
Reno, NV
Year, Model & Trim Level
91-EXPLR-EdBaur4.0/6cyl
Hey guys, I bought a 1991 Explorer (Eddie Bauer) about 4 months ago and have been slowly making progress. I am new to working on cars, but have been learning lots along the way. I have learned so much already about this vehicle picking over numerous threads that have been posted. I will include as many pictures as possible during the process as well. My name is Mitch and I'm currently in my senior year studying GeoPhysics at UNR in Reno, NV.

I am making this thread to display work that I have done with specifics for future builds. I am also going to use this thread to ask questions as I make progress to help the build move along smoothly!

I would also love to hear suggestions or answer any questions I can through messages or on the thread!

Brief Vehicle History:
Bought in August 2020 from a woman who's husband passed away. He was the original owner, and lived in Tahoe for the past 15 years. Due to heavy snowfall and driving on road salt, there were some rust problems on the underbody of the EX. The car had 171,000 miles and didn't have any blaring issues besides some rust and being very dirty from sitting for about a year. Overall it wasn't in the best shape, but pretty decent for a 30 year old SUV. I bought this vehicle for $1800 which seemed to be a good price for something with 4x4 that I could slowly fix up and turn into a reliable off roader.

Goals for the EX

The main goal is to build a reliable off roader that will grant me access to the mountain tops and basins of Nevada. I have no intention of hard core rock crawling or going excessively fast off road. Just want to bullet proof the design and in time upgrade the suspension, and outfit it for overlanding.