Ben's Project: 91 XL | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Ben's Project: 91 XL

Some of you know I purchard Briwayjones' old 1991. It needed some help..

Don't have any before but there should be some on the site..

IMG_0499.JPG

IMG_0500.JPG

IMG_0501.JPG

IMG_0503.JPG

IMG_0505.JPG

Doing the inner dog legs plus the outers, I cut all the rust out before starting and added a rust inhibitor (por-15) to ensure the rust is gone to the best of my abilities. Good bonding between old sheet metal & new sheet metal was done buy using body panel adhesive/seam sealer between the joints and adding plug welds/rivets, etc.. Not the greatest job doing it but I'm no pro and this is just to prevent the rust from proceeding any further.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

**shudders at the thought of all that rust**

Ya know, it probably would be cheaper to buy one already road legal and built....:D

**shudders at the thought of all that rust**

Ya know, it probably would be cheaper to buy one already road legal and built....:D

I actually thought about that, but one problem, I don't have $3K on hand unless you feel like $500 a month :D

bout time we see some signs of this damn thing :p:

Some of you know I purchard Briwayjones' old 1991. It needed some help..

Don't have any before but there should be some on the site..

IMG_0499.JPG

IMG_0500.JPG

IMG_0501.JPG

IMG_0503.JPG

IMG_0505.JPG